Reach Boarding Screen Lock Security measure

ARTICLE: Reach Screen Lock Security measure

Reach version 3.3.179 published on 6th June 2018 for Cloud portals has a new screen lock security measure which has been added to Reach to implement global best practice for access to private and secure databases.

This update provides for an automatic Lock Screen action and also an automatic Log Out function for idle user accounts.

The default settings for these functions are;

Screen Lock    Screen lock on Idle (number of minutes). 
Default for your portal is 5 minutes. This will lock the screen and require PIN or password to reactivate.

Log Out   Log user out on idle (number of minutes).  
Default for this is 30 minutes.  This will log the user out if their session has been idle for the period set and require login to reactivate.





How to change your Security Lock settings

Portal administrators can manage these settings for your portal in the General Settings of your System Configuration.  (System Configuration > General)





How to turn the Idle system Security Lock off for user accounts

Kiosk only accounts are not exposed to the Security Lock setting so your Student kiosk screens will not close down in line with your Idle Security Lock settings.  Some school also run other permanent screen displays such as Airport view for Departure and Return views and these displays can be set to remain permanently on also by adjusting the Security settings in the account's Accessibility Settings.  To manage the setting for individual user accounts, go to the user profile in People Management and in the Permissions > Security settings you can set Reach to ignore the Idle Security Settings for that account.  This can be implemented for any individual user account to ignore the Idle Security Settings.  






These settings can also be managed based on the Base Security Settings for Role Types of user accounts by updating the Security settings in System Configurations > Infinity within the permissions tab for the Role Type's Base Security.



Users can only use the recovery modal if they have password or PIN set in Reach.  It WILL NOT WORK if users only have SSO or Google OAuth credentials.